Clay's Ark

Clay's Ark

Octavia E. Butler

Book 3.0 of The Patternist

Language: English

Publisher: Open Road Media

Published: Dec 1, 1996

Words: 61991
Pages: 242


**In a “haunting, apocalyptic, compelling” near future, one man and his daughters must stop an alien virus from becoming a deadly global epidemic (*Essence*).** Blake Maslin and his two daughters are driving to Flagstaff when bandits swarm their car. At gunpoint, the marauders kidnap one of Blake’s children, promising to keep her safe in return for medical care. Warily, the doctor goes with them, not realizing that he has just taken the first step down a terrifying path that will consume his life. The gunmen take him deep into the desert, to a colony of people infected with a gruesome alien disease. It causes weakness, sallow skin, and birth defects so horrible that the children who suffer them cannot rightly be called human. The victims have quarantined themselves in the desert lest their illness spread and doom mankind. But as their willingness to accept isolation falters, Blake becomes the last hope for the survival of an uncontaminated Earth. Octavia E. Butler’s groundbreaking and award-winning science fiction and dystopian novels have inspired generations of readers all over the world. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Octavia E. Butler including rare images from the author’s estate. ** ### Review “Haunting, apocalyptic, compelling. . . . Butler’s prose is sharp and lucid, and *Clay’s Ark *offers a complex rendering of the interior journeys of characters dragging themselves across a violent and lethal future world.” —*Essence* “Exceptional. . . . Butler is a realist, writing the most detailed social criticism and creating some of the most fascinating female characters in the genre.” —*The Village Voice* “One of science fiction’s finest writers.” —*The New York Times* ### About the Author Octavia E. Butler (1947–2006) was a bestselling and award-winning author, considered one of the best science fiction writers of her generation. She received both the Hugo and Nebula awards, and in 1995 became the first author of science fiction to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. She was also awarded the prestigious PEN Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000. Her first novel, *Patternmaster* (1976), was praised both for its imaginative vision and for Butler’s powerful prose, and spawned four prequels, beginning with *Mind of My Mind* (1977) and finishing with *Clay’s Ark* (1984). Although the Patternist series established Butler among the science fiction elite, it was *Kindred* (1979), a story of a black woman who travels back in time to the antebellum South, that brought her mainstream success. In 1985, Butler won Nebula and Hugo awards for the novella “Bloodchild,” and in 1987 she published *Dawn*, the first novel of the Xenogenesis trilogy, about a race of aliens who visit earth to save humanity from itself. *Fledgling* (2005) was Butler’s final novel. She died at her home in 2006.