The Science Fiction Hall of Fame

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame

Silverberg, Robert A.

Language: English

Publisher: Orb Books

Published: Jan 2, 2003

Words: 236781
Pages: 1007


The definitive collection of the best in science fiction stories between 1929-1964. This book contains twenty-six of the greatest science fiction stories ever written. They represent the considered verdict of the Science Fiction Writers of America, those who have shaped the genre and who know, more intimately than anyone else, what the criteria for excellence in the field should be. The authors chosen for The Science Fiction Hall Fame are the men and women who have shaped the body and heart of modern science fiction; their brilliantly imaginative creations continue to inspire and astound new generations of writers and fans. Robert Heinlein in "The Roads Must Roll" describes an industrial civilization of the future caught up in the deadly flaws of its own complexity. "Country of the Kind," by Damon Knight, is a frightening portrayal of biological mutation. "Nightfall," by Isaac Asimov, one of the greatest stories in the science fiction field, is the story of a planet where the sun sets only once every millennium and is a chilling study in mass psychology. Originally published in 1970 to honor those writers and their stories that had come before the institution of the Nebula Awards, *The Science Fiction Hall Of Fame, Volume One*, was the book that introduced tens of thousands of young readers to the wonders of science fiction. Too long unavailable, this new edition will treasured by all science fiction fans everywhere. The Science Fiction Hall Of Fame, Volume One*, includes the following stories: Introduction by Robert Silverberg "A Martian Odyssey" by Stanley G. Weinbaum "Twilight" by John W. Campbell "Helen O'Loy" by Lester del Rey "The Roads Must Roll" by Robert A. Heinlein "Microcosmic God" by Theodore Sturgeon "Nightfall" by Isaac Asimov "The Weapon Shop" by A. E. van Vogt "Mimsy Were the Borogoves" by Lewis Padgett "Huddling Place" by Clifford D. Simak "Arena" by Frederic Brown "First Contact" by Murray Leinster "That Only a Mother" by Judith Merril "Scanners Live in Vain" by Cordwainer Smith "Mars is Heaven!" by Ray Bradbury "The Little Black Bag" by C. M. Kornbluth "Born of Man and Woman" by Richard Matheson "Coming Attraction" by Fritz Leiber "The Quest for Saint Aquin" by Anthony Boucher "Surface Tension" by James Blish "The Nine Billion Names of God" by Arthur C. Clarke "It's a *Good* Life" by Jerome Bixby "The Cold Equations" by Tom Godwin "Fondly Fahrenheit" by Alfred Bester "The Country of the Kind," Damon Knight "Flowers for Algernon" by Daniel Keyes "A Rose for Ecclesiastes" by Roger Zelazny Review "A basic one-volume library of the short science fiction story."--*Kirkus* on *The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One* "Quibbling about the choice of the prize winners would be like arguing with the pros who vote on the Academy Awards."--*Publishers Weekly* on *The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One* "The first definitive modern anthology of top science fiction stories."--*Newark Sunday News* on *The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One* "Libraries can toss out worn collections of partly good/partly poor and buy this volume of the creme de la creme."--*Library Journal* on *The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One* "Not for years has there appeared a collection of stories so remarkable, so profoundly enjoyable, so full of that marvelous 'remember when' quality, and, for the absolute beginner, so rewarding and informative a reading experience."--Theodore Sturgeon in the *National Review* on *The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One* About the Author Robert Silverberg** is a past president of the Science Fiction Writers of America, has published stories in all of the major science fiction magazines, written numerous science fiction novels, and is considered one of the greatest authors in the field. He is an award-winning author and has edited the *New York Times* bestselling anthology *Legends*.