Erak's Ransom

Erak's Ransom

John A. Flanagan

Book 7.0 of Ranger's Apprentice

language: English

Publisher: Puffin

Publishing date: Sep 6, 2011

Words: 117081
Pages: 513

Description:

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. *alone*! In the wake of Araluen's uneasy truce with the raiding Skandians comes word that the Skandian leader has been captured by a dangerous desert tribe. The Rangers - and Will - are sent to free him. But the desert is like nothing these warriors have seen before. Strangers in a strange land, they are brutalized by sandstorms, beaten by the unrelenting heat, tricked by one tribe that plays by its own rules, and surprisingly befriended by another. Like a desert mirage, nothing is as it seems. Yet one thing is constant: the bravery of the Rangers. "Bringing together many favorite characters for a grand adventure, this book delivers both excitement and quiet good times." - *Booklist Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series. From Booklist Book 7, the latest adventure in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, chronologically takes place after Book 4. Soon to conclude his apprenticeship and become a ranger, young Will joins Halt, Gilan, Horace, Evanlyn, and Svengal on a perilous mission to free their friend Erak, who has been captured by the Arridians and held for ransom. The vaguely Middle Eastern desert setting provides new challenges, new allies, and new foes for the Araluens and their Skandian friends. Bringing together many favorite characters for a grand adventure, this book delivers both excitement and quiet good times. Grades 5-8. --Carolyn Phelan About the Author John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.