Mack, David

Book 17.0 of Star Trek Deep Space Nine relaunch

Language: English

Publisher: Pocket Books

Published: Jan 2, 2006

Words: 87298
Pages: 326


Product Description They were created to be killing machines. Highly intelligent, resourceful, and deceptively complex, the Jem'Hadar are a species engineered for war and programmed at the genetic level for one purpose: to fight until death as soldiers of the sprawling stellar empire known as the Dominion. No Jem'Hadar has ever lived thirty years, and not even their masters, the shape-shifting Founders, know what such a creature is capable of becoming were it to be freed of its servitude. One Founder, however, has dared to wonder. Appointed by Odo himself to learn peaceful coexistence aboard *Deep Space 9* ™, Taran'atar, an Honored Elder among the Jem'Hadar, had for months been a staunch, if conflicted, ally to the crew of the station, ever struggling to understand the mission on which he was sent . . . until something went horrifically wrong. Consumed by self-doubt and an ever-growing rage, Taran'atar has lashed out against those he was sworn to aid. While Captain Kira Nerys and Lieutenant Ro Laren both lie near death aboard DS9, their assailant has taken a hostage and fled into Cardassian space, pursued by Commander Elias Vaughn on the *U.S.S. Defiant*. But as the hunt unfolds, Taran'atar's true objective becomes increasingly less certain, as the rogue Jem'Hadar leads the *Defiant* to a discovery even more shocking than his crime. About the Author David Mack** is the national bestselling author of more than a dozen books, including *Wildfire*, *Harbinger*, *Reap the Whirlwind*, *Road of Bones*, and the Star Trek Destiny trilogy — *Gods of Night*, *Mere Mortals*, and *Lost Souls*. His first original novel, the supernatural thriller *The Calling*, debuted in July 2009 to critical acclaim. In addition to novels, Mack's diverse writing credits span several media, including television (for episodes of *Star Trek: Deep Space Nine*), film, short fiction, magazines, newspapers, comic books, computer games, radio, and the Internet. Recent novels include *The 4400: Promises Broken*, *Star Trek Vanguard: Precipice*, and an expanded edition of his Mirror Universe tale *The Sorrows of Empire*. Mack has been to shows in every Rush concert tour since 1982, and he finally met two-thirds of the band in 2007. He currently resides in New York City.