Prodigy

Prodigy

Lu, Marie

Book 2.0 of Marie Lu's Legend

Language: English

Publisher: Speak

Published: Jan 1, 2013

Words: 99186
Pages: 436

Description:

**The second book in Marie Lu’s *New York Time*s bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! **June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector. It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.  But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong? In this highly-anticipated sequel to the *New York Times* bestseller *Legend*, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.  **"Masterful." —*The Los Angeles Times* "Lu's action-packed series is the real deal." **—*Entertainment Weekly**** *** *From the Trade Paperback edition.* ** ### From Booklist Taking up where Legend (2011) ended, the second book in the series finds June, patrician military star, and Day, street fighter and hero of the people, on a freight train to Las Vegas, where they hope to meet up with the Patriots—those opposed to the government of the Republic and its dictator, the Elector. It’s hard to describe the plot without giving up spoilers, but suffice it to say June and Day’s newfound attraction intensifies, even as their issues with trust—and outside sources (including Day’s old friend Tess)—threaten the relationship. Meanwhile, more backstory about the history of the Republic and the Colonies fleshes out the narrative. As in the previous book, the story is told in the alternating voices of June and Day, which are presented in two different typefaces and colors. This is a well-molded mixture of intrigue, romance, and action, where things can change with almost any turn of the page, and frequently do. A soap-operatic turn of events at the book’s conclusion doesn’t hurt at all and will only heighten the clamor for the next title. Grades 8-12. --Ilene Cooper ### Review Praise for Marie Lu’s *New York Times* bestseller, *PRODIGY*: Featured on ***ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY*’S MUST-LIST**! From *THE LOS ANGELES TIMES*: “Marie Lu has beaten the curse with *Prodigy*. . . it has all the chivalry of *Robin Hood* and all the shine and grime of *Blade Runner* . . . The well-drawn worlds, political undercurrents and the believability of the characters make it all feel fresh . . . **Lu proves that a Book 2 needn't play second fiddle**, providing intrigue and deep pleasure all its own.” From THE *NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS: * “. . . **clear your calendar** to allow yourself the luxury of reading this book in one or two sittings. **You will be shaken** . . .” STARRED REVIEW from *PUBLISHERS WEEKLY*:  “Lu opts for a **high simmer of intrigue** in her sequel to Legend…taut and insightful.” STARRED REVIEW from *SHELF AWARENESS*: “**Stunning follow-up** to *Legend . . .* The thrilling action and futuristic settings are **sure to please fans of *Divergent***.” * * * Praise for Marie Lu’s *New York Times* bestseller *LEGEND*: From *ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY*: “Fine writing and excellent execution. **Sequel, please**!” From *THE NEW YORK TIMES*: “*Legend* **doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it**.” From *USA TODAY*: “Marie Lu’s dystopian novel is **a ‘Legend’ in the making**.” From *THE LOS ANGELES TIMES*: “an **action-packed love story** full of inventive details.” STARRED REVIEW from PUBLISHERS WEEKLY: “**Lu’s debut is a stunner**. . . raises hopes high for the sequels to come. ” STARRED REVIEW from *KIRKUS REVIEWS*:  “**A gripping thriller** in dystopic future Los Angeles. This is no didactic near-future warning of present evils, but a cinematic adventure featuring endearing, compelling heroes.” STARRED REVIEW from *BOOKLIST*:  “[D]elicious details keep pages turning . . . **you’ve got the makings for a potent sequel**.” STARRED REVIEW from *VOYA*:  “A fast-paced blend of action and science fiction (with only a hint of potential romance) means that this one will likely appeal to male and female readers alike.  Debut author Lu has managed a great feat—emulating a highly successful young adult series while staying true to her own voice. ***Legend* will give *Hunger Games* fans something worthwhile to read**.” STARRED REVIEW from *LIBRARY MEDIA CONNECTION*:  “**This book stands out** . . .” FROM KAMI GARCIA, *New York Times* bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures trilogy “A romantic thriller set in a post-apocalyptic world where nothing is what it seems—*Legend* is **impossible to put down and even harder to forget**.” FROM SARAH REES BRENNAN, author of The Demon Lexicon trilogy “A compelling dystopic world, with diverse characters, high tension and political intrigue. **[If] you liked the Hunger Games, you'll love this**.”